skip to Main Content

Four new members join Sport England board

Mel Bound, Michelle Cracknell, Jason Fergus and Helene Raynsford (Image: Sport England)

Lucy Frazer, the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, has named four new members to the board of Sport England.

Mel Bound, Michelle Cracknell, Jason Fergus and Helene Raynsford have been appointed for terms of three years, running until 31 December 2025.

Bound is the founding chief executive of This Mum Runs, a digital, mobile and in-person running community for women. Cracknell was chief executive and accounting officer of The Pensions Advisory Service from October 2013 to December 2018.

Fergus is director of Active Essex, one of the largest Active Partnerships in England and heads up the delivery of the Essex Local Delivery Pilot, one of 12 LDPs that form part of Sport England’s £100m programme to increase physical inactivity in deprived areas.

Raynsford is a retired Paralympian having become the first world champion and Paralympic rowing gold medallist in women’s single sculls.

Their remit as board members will include setting and agreeing Sport England strategy and policy and overseeing the development and implementation of major projects. The board will also need to approve all grant awards which exceed £2m.

Sport England chair, Chris Boardman, said: “Mel, Michelle, Jason and Helene are, collectively, a powerful group of people who will bring an impressive range of skills and experience to the Board.

“Together with our existing members, they will play a crucial role in helping us to continue to deliver on the ambitious goals set out in our Uniting the Movement strategy.

“They share our ambition to ensure the benefits of being active are available to everyone in England regardless of their background and will greatly help us in our ongoing work to transform lives and communities through sport and physical activity.”

The appointments, which started on 1 January, replace Andy Long, Karen Pickering, Ian Cumming, Natalie Ceeney and Chris Grant, who stepped down at the end of their terms last year.

Back To Top