skip to Main Content

ukactive names new Membership Council

Dave Courteen, the new chair of the ukactive Membership Council (Image: ukactive)

Industry body ukactive has named 14 people on its new Membership Council. Representing the voice of ukactive members to the ukactive board, the council shapes and informs ukactive’s work and is also tasked with ensuring the membership is engaged with the organisation’s plans.

The new council members were elected following a six-week application and voting process which ran throughout November and December 2021.

The ukactive Membership Council members are:

  • Chair: Dave Courteen, Managing Director, Mosaic Spa and Health Club Group
  • Andrew Denton, Chief Executive, Outdoor Industries Association
  • Marc Diaper, Chief Executive, Gymbox
  • Lisa Dodd-Mayne, Director of Sport & Active Communities, University of Warwick
  • John Fletcher, Managing Director, Northampton Leisure Trust
  • Sophie Lawler, Chief Executive, Total Fitness
  • David Monkhouse, Director, Leisure-net Solutions      
  • Rebecca Passmore, UK Managing Director, PureGym
  • Lee Matthews, Managing Director, Fitness First
  • Chris Symons, Chief Executive, BH Live
  • Andrew Thompson, Chairman, Anytime Fitness UK
  • Jean-Claude Vacassin, Director, The IFBA     
  • Sarah Watts, Chief Executive, Alliance Leisure
  • Dave Wright, Group CEO, Myzone Group.

Dave Courteen, chair of the new Council, said: “After the impact of the pandemic over the last two years and the incredible hard work of the ukactive team in raising both the profile of the health club industry and the importance of adopting an active lifestyle, I’m delighted to take on the role of Chair of the Membership Council.

“We are at a critical time when we have a wonderful opportunity to cement in the minds of the Government, and the general population, the benefits of being active.

“I look forward to ensuring that the diverse needs of the broad range of operators are fully represented within ukactive.”

Back To Top